“Not sure purple suits him really”

Descending off Latrigg -www.athleteinaction.com

Earlier this year I decided to leave my local club Eden runners after several years in order to join a more fell focused club with the hope my runs could help a club win medals and ultimatly myself. I could of joined Keswick AC with a great team of runners or Helm hill with a great team of young talented fell runners but there could of only been one choice really. This was to join the purple vests of Borrowdale Fell runners. This comes from my first memories of fell running watching my old man on one of our holidays from Tring, Hertfordshire to the Lakes running the Borrowdale fell race. I can remember watching and waiting for dad at the river crossing just before the finish and of seeing those purple vests of the men at the front and sub consiously being inspired. One day I hoped I might be good enough to join and be at the sharp end of races. So In 2014 I thought I better get on with it and join. Now just need to be at the sharp end of a few races! The real first memory of fell running was of the Latrigg Fell race and being amazed by the speed the runners hurtled down the hill. So when I saw I had the evening off on the Wednesday of the Latrigg fell race even though I was fatigued from the tough Transvulcania Ultra I had to go race and re trace my dads footprints, only a little quicker. With two personal ambitions achieved I now hope to do the purple vest proud and then maybe it will suit me better!!

A photoshop mock up thanks to Phil Winskill and body double Lee

Leave a Reply

