The Northern Traverse 2022

Spine – DNF – Photo @ Mick Kenyon

The start of the journey with the Northern Traverse began in January at Hawes with my tail between my legs. The disappointment of a DNF at the Spine race led to a shot gun entry and plans to learn how to run a multi day race. Come the 2nd April I was excited and strangely confident about the 300km journey I was about to embark on. Starting in St Bees with a ceremonial dip of the toe into the Irish Sea I would be mainly following Wainwright’s Coast to Coast route across three national parks to finish in Robin Hood’s Bay. 

Start of Northern Traverse in St Bees

A fantastic feature of this event from my perspective was the interaction with the Lakes Traverse runners who started a hour in front. The chance to encourage others as I passed them on the way to Shap helped to add to an already big smile. Pacing was a a key part of my plan for a successful completion and I had to be careful not to over exert competing with athletes not in my race. Although I was in the front within the first kilometre I was running a relaxed easy effort focusing on my race. Reaching Shap in good spirits and health which was a good sign I had started well. 

Ennerdale Water – Photo @ No Limits Photography

The immersion in Nature throughout this journey was a powerful experience and created many fantastic memories. Highlights included running along the cliff tops on Saturday and Monday mornings, and the views of the Lake District from Ennerdale Bridge and down Buttermere Valley from Moses Trod. The red glow of sunset and tranquility with red deer around Angle Tarn on Saturday evening was spectacular and amazing stars on the way to Kirby Stephen during the cold crisp night. 

The bird life in the Yorkshire Dales National Park was amazing with a rare Ring Ouzel perched on a rock and with the sounds grouse make when you disturb them. On the second day I enjoyed the section of The Cleveland Way from Carlton Bank to Bloworth Crossing and looking back across the Vale of York as the light disappeared. It was a magical time where I felt connected and could appreciate Nature. 

Stonethwaite – Photo @ No Limit Photography

We would not do these events if it was all smooth sailing and challenges to the body and mind started to grow after Shap. The crisp cold starry first night made me slightly uncomfortable and encouraged me to keep moving. The long slog up and over Nine Standards was tough with the body clock primed for sleep. The pretty section from Reeth to Richmond dragged when I was ready for a break. I purposely added extra challenge to this event planning to only use a map and compass for navigation, after Richmond I made a 90 degree navigation mistake where I cursed this decision with an extra 30 mins added to my journey. 

Heading towards Reeth in the Yorkshire Dales – Photo @ No Limits Photography

The Vale of York was a psychological battle of really wanting to walk but it was too flat, so like Dory out of Finding Nemo, I repeated “Just keep swimming” in my head.  The arrival of rain, wind and a second night without sleep created the biggest hurdle to success. The pain in the joints were making me question my why and the apparitions with voices in the wind were playing with my sleep deprived sanity. 

The second goal of the event was improved nutrition so I would not be having gastro intestinal distress this time round. A wiser use of Mountain Fuel Sports Jelly’s and recovery shakes with good meals at the aid stations allowed me to feel good until the middle of the second night. Equipment wins included the La Sportiva Cyklon’s making the mountain terrain a joy to run across in the first 100 miles and the Krush Primaloft providing insulation when movement was generating minimal heat. 

Finish Smile – Robin Hood’s Bay

I had moments where I wanted to quit and wonder why was I pushing so hard but I love the feeling when you run or shuffle down the steep hill into Robin Hood’s Bay to finish a journey knowing you have given your best effort. This gives me the biggest finish line smile. 

C2C – Northern Traverse

2 thoughts on “The Northern Traverse 2022

Leave a comment